Chakra Yoga Workshop

The concept of Chakras is rooted in ancient traditions of Hinduism but is also found in Buddhism and has made its way into spiritual traditions such as yoga.

According to the concept, the physical human body does not only consist of bones, muscles, organs, and skin. It’s rather made up of various layers of energy fields surrounding the physical body. These layers are said to form the so-called subtle body, which is also called the energy body. ‘Subtle’ in this context means ‘that what is most delicate’, ‘that what is most refined’.

The word Chakra is an old Sanskrit word and can be translated as ‘spinning wheel’. According to yogic beliefs, the human body has seven Chakras, which can be thought of as intersections of different energy channels. The life force, called Prana, travels through these channels or Nadis.

1. Muladhara Chakra - The Root Chakra - 

  • Location: Base of the spine
  • System: Skeletal
  • Gland: Gonads
  • Associations: Security, survival, safety, money, physical vitality
  • Color: Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Mantra: Lam

2. Svadishthana Chakra - The Sacral Chakra

  • Location: Pelvic basin
  • System: Reproductive
  • Gland: Adrenals
  • Associations: Sexuality, appetite, creative powers, desires, sensations
  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Mantra: Vam

3. Manipura Chakra - The Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Location: Solar plexus and navel
  • System: Muscular and digestive
  • Gland: Pancreas
  • Associations: Power, determination, self-control, intellect, introversion/extroversion
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Mantra: Ram

4. Anahata Chakra - The Heart Chakra

  • Location: Heart
  • System: Circulatory, respiratory, immune
  • Gland: Thymus
  • Associations: Compassion, love, acceptance, emotional openness, relating, giving
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Mantra: Yam

5. Vishuddha Chakra - The Throat Chakra

  • Location: Throat
  • System: Metabolism
  • Gland: Thyroid
  • Associations: Expression, abundance, manifestation, intuition, communication
  • Color: Blue
  • Element: Ether
  • Mantra: Ham

6. Ajna Chakra - The Third Eye Chakra

  • Location: Between eyebrows (third eye)
  • System: Endocrine
  • Gland: Pituitary
  • Associations: Insight, wisdom, self-awareness, spiritual awareness, self-realization
  • Color: Violet
  • Element: Light
  • Mantra: Khsam

7. Sahasrara Chakra - The Crown Chakra

  • Location: Crown of the head
  • System: Nervous
  • Gland: Pineal
  • Associations: Universal consciousness, intuition, connection with the divine, peace of mind
  • Color: White
  • Element: None, beyond the elements
  • Mantra: Om
No event found!
No event found!